3 Nov 2016

List of Important Awards and Honors- October 2016 | GK Updates

List of Important Awards and Honors- October 2016
List of Important Awards and Honors- October 2016:
Dear Readers, List of Awards and Honors that received in the month of October 2016 was given here. Candidates those who are preparing for upcoming IBPS PO/RRB/Clerk and all competitive exams can use these GK materials.

Winner of beauty pageant Mrs India Earth 2016
Prineet Grewal
Chevalier de l'Ordre National du Mérite (Knight in the National Order of Merit)
Prajna Chowta (Film-maker and elephant researcher)
Winner of Lemelson-MIT Prize
Ramesh Raskar (founder of the Camera Culture research at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) Media Lab and associate professor of Media Arts and Sciences)
John F. Richards Prize
Nayanjot Lahiri (Professor of History at the Ashoka University, for her book Ashoka in Ancient India)
Prestigious 2016 Sustainable Development Leadership Award
Pawan Chamling (the Chief Minister of Sikkim)
Winner of 'Outstanding Celebrity Woman of the Year' award
Aishwarya Rai Bachchan (Bolly wood actor won this award during the 7th Outlook Business Outstanding Women Awards by Outlook Business magazine)
Winner of IBC award and Trophy for excellence
Chandigarh International Airports Limited (CHIAL) (a Joint Venture Company of Airports Authority of India and States of Punjab and Haryana)
Winner of 'Actor of the Millennium' in BBC poll
Amitabh Bachchan (Bolly wood actor)
Winner of prestigious award by the Ugandan government for promoting human values through his literature
Ramesh Pokhriyal Nishank (Former Uttarakhand chief minister)
Selected for the 28th Jimmy George Foundation Award-2016 for best sports person of Kerala.
P R Sreejesh (Indian Hockey team captain)
Winner of V Krishnamurthy Award for excellence by the Hyderabad-based Centre for Organisation Development
R. A. Mashelka (former Director-General of CSIR)
Winner of prestigious IAFP Young scientist scholarship award
Kirtiraj Kundlik Gaikwad (an Indian scientist with the Department of Packaging)
'Woman of the Year' by Billboard
Madonna (American singer-songwriter for "her creative vision, relentless innovation, and dedication to philanthropic causes")
The Trendsetter Award 2016 by ET Panache, a supplement of The Economic Times
Sonam Kapoor (Actress, The award recognises the efforts of entrepreneurs, innovators, newsmakers and athletes whose stories "inspire millions and whose services transform lives" )
Mathrubhumi Literary award
C Radhakrishnan (Eminent writer in recognition of his contribution to the field of literature)
The 2016 Seven Star Luxury Hospitality and Lifestyle Awards at Marbella in Spain
Maharajas’ Express
Winner of Chaplin Award
Robert De Niro (American actor, awarded by Film Society of Lincoln Center)
prestigious APJ Abdul Kalam IGNITE Award
Roshan Sori (A 13-year-old Chhattisgarh boy, Award for suggesting an idea for a software to immediately register a vote given through an electronic voting machine)
'2016 Wildlife Photographer of the Year'
Tim Laman (American photographer, for his image 'Entwined Lives')
International Prize in Statistics
Sir David Cox  (Noted British statistician)
“Special Award for Excellence in MSME lending”
State Bank of Patiala (for its performance in lending to the MSME sector during the year 2013-14 & 2014-15)
Winner of the prestigious Wildlife Photographer Award 2016 by the BBC and Natural History Museum in London
Nayan Khanolkar 
Winner of Lifetime Achievement award from The Sports Journalists' Association of Mumbai
Sunil Gavaskar (former cricketer)
Winner of  National Award for 'Ishaqzaade'
Parineeti Chopra ( She won a Special Mention for her 2012 film 'Ishaqzaade' at the 60th National Film Awards)
2016 European Golden Boy Award
Renato Sanches
World Bank’s Award of Excellence
Almatti dam (one of the largest reservoirs in Karnataka, chosen for best utilisation of funds for renovation to enhance the strength of the dam)
2016 Man Booker Prize
Paul Beatty
Winner of Mark Twain Prize for American Humour
Bill Murray (Comedian)
Winner of 2016 Sakharov Prize
Nadia MuradBasee and LamiyaAji Bashar (Yazidi women)