Highlights of the 17th Shanghai Cooperation Organization Summit – GK Updates

    Highlights of the 17th Shanghai Cooperation Organization Summit – GK Updates
    Highlights of the 17th Shanghai Cooperation Organization Summit – GK Updates:
    Dear Readers, the 17th Shanghai Cooperation Organization Summit was held recently, Here were have given the important highlights of the 17th Shanghai Cooperation Organization Summit, candidates those who are preparing for the upcoming examination can make use of it.

    The 17thShanghai Cooperation Organization (SCO) Summit has been organaised inAstana, Kazakhstan. The two day summit was organized under the Presidency of Kazakhstan. The theme of the summit is“Future Energy”.

    Highlights of the Summit:
    ·       India and Pakistan become full time members of the Shanghai Cooperation Organization.
    ·       Russia strongly supports India’s membership whereas China Supports Pakistan’s membership.
    ·       The inclusion of India and Pakistan into the SCO would mean the addition of another 1.45 billion people, which would make the grouping cover around 40 per cent of the global population.

    Background of SCO:
    ·       The Shanghai Cooperation Organization is a Eurasian political, economic, and  military organization.
    ·       Earlier it had been known as Shanghai Five, becauseUzbekistan was not a member in it. Later in 2001Uzbekistanjoined the group, and they renamed it as theShanghai Cooperation Organization which was founded by the leaders of China, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Russia, Tajikistan and Uzbekistanon June 15, 2001 in Shanghai.
    ·       The primary motive behind the formation was to ensure stability along the borders.
    ·       It functions on broadly two parameters,
    o  The first being trade, banking, connectivity and energy.
    o  Second, the fight against terrorism under Regional Anti-Terrorist Structure (RATS) which includes joint exercises, maintaining a data bank of terrorists and coordination in similar areas.
    ·       Regional Anti-Terrorist Structure (RATS), which is headquartered inTashkentand is aimed at promoting cooperation against terrorism, separatism and extremism.
    ·       SCO considered as a counterweight to theNorth Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO).
    Main Objectives of SCO:
    ·       Strengthening mutual trust and neighborliness among the member states.
    ·       Promoting their effective cooperation in politics, trade, the economy, research, technology and culture, as well as in education, energy, transport, tourism, environmental protection, and other areas.
    ·       Making joint efforts to maintain and ensure peace, security and stability in the region.
    ·       Moving towards the establishment of a democratic, fair and rational new international political and economic order.

    India’s Benefits after getting full Membership:
    ·       India has been an observer of SCO since 2005 and has participated in ministerial-level meetings, which focused on security and economic co-operation in the Eurasian region.
    ·       Becoming a full member of the body will strengthen India’s position in Central Asia. It will also help the country’s aim to regional integration; promote connectivity and stability across borders.
    ·       India, one of the largest energy consuming countries in the world, is also likely to get greater access to major gas and oil exploration projects in Central Asia once it becomes part of the SCO.
    ·       Cooperation on counter-terrorism is expected to emerge as a major point of India’s exchange with SCO.
    ·       Experts say India’s inclusion may even bring down Beijing’s overarching influence over the SCO.
    Head Quarters of SCO: Beijing, China.

    Member Countries of SCO:
    Member Country
    Republic of India
    Narendra Modi
    Prime Minister
    New Delhi
    People’s Republic of China
    Xi Jinping
    President of China
    Renminbi (Yuan)
    Republic of Kazakhstan
    Nursultan Nazarbayev
    President of Kazakhstan
    Russian Federation
    Vladimir Putin
    President of Russia
    Republic of Tajikistan
    Emomali Rahmon
    President of Tajikistan
    Republic of Uzbekistan
    Shavkat Mirziyoyev
    President of Uzbekistan
          Islamic Republic of Pakistan
    Nawaz Sharif
    Prime Minister of Pakistan
    Kyrgyzstan Republic
    Almazbek Atambayev
    President of Kyrgyzstan


    More GK Highlights on Recently Topics:

    English Learning Session :– (Day-1)
    English Learning Session :– (Day-2)
    English Learning Session :– (Day-3)
    English Learning Session :– (Day-4)
    English Learning Session :– (Day-5)