65th National Film Awards 2018 – Winners List

Dear Aspirants Here we have given brief details about The 65th National Film Awards in the exam point of view. Candidates those who are preparing for IBPS / SBI / SSC / Insurance exam and all other competitive exams can use this.

Are You preparing for IBPS PO 2019? Start your preparation with Free IBPS PO Mock Test 2019 – Take Test Now

The 65th National Film Award Winners List 2018


The National Film Awards is the most prominent film award ceremonies in India. Established in 1954, it has been administered, along with the International Film Festival of India and the Indian Panorama, by the Indian government’s Directorate of Film Festivals since 1973.

Every year, a national panel appointed by the government selects the winning entry, and the award ceremony is held in New Delhi, where the President of India presents the awards. This is followed by the inauguration of the National Film Festival, where the award-winning films are screened for the public. Declared for films produced in the previous year across the country, they hold the distinction of awarding merit to the best of Indian cinema overall, as well as presenting awards for the best films in each region and language of the country. Due to the national scale of the National Film Awards, it is considered the Indian equivalent of the American Academy Awards.


The Awards were first presented in 1954. The Government of India conceived the ceremony to honour films made across India, on a national scale, to encourage the furthering of Indian art and culture. Since 1973, the Indian Directorate of Film Festivals administers the ceremony along with other major film events in India annually. It is the highest award given for films in India.

The 65th National Film Awards

The 65th National Film Awards ceremony is an upcoming event during which the Directorate of Film Festivals presents its annual National Film Awards to honour the best films of 2017 in the Indian cinema. The awards announced on 13 April 2018. The awards ceremony will be held on 3 May 2018.

Selection process

The Directorate of Film Festivals invited online entries and the acceptable last date for entries was until 2 March 2018. Feature and Non-Feature Films certified by Central Board of Film Certification between 1 January 2017, and 31 December 2017, were eligible for the film award categories. Books, critical studies, reviews or articles on cinema published in Indian newspapers, magazines, and journals between 1 January 2017, and 31 December 2017, were eligible for the best writing on cinema section. Entries of dubbed, revised or copied versions of a film or translation, abridgements, edited or annotated works and reprints were ineligible for the awards.

For the Feature and Non-Feature Films sections, films in any Indian language, shot on 16 mm, 35 mm, a wider film gauge or a digital format, and released in cinemas, on video or digital formats for home viewing were eligible.

The 65th National Film Awards Winners:

This year, the jury is being headed by director Shekhar Kapur. The jury panel has 10 members. National Film Awards will be given by the President Ram Nath Kovind in May 2018.

S. No. Category Winner
1. Best Anthropological film Name Place Animal Thing, Slave Genesis
2. Best Critic on Cinema Girdhar Jha (Swarn Kamal)
3. Special Mention Mhorkya (Marathi), Hello Arasi (Oriya), Take Off (Malayalam), Newton (Hindi)
4. Best Ladakhi Film Walking With The Wind
5. Best Jasari Film Sinjar
6. Best Tulu Film Paddayi
7. Best Odiya Film Hello Arsi
8. Best Kannada Film Hebbet Ramakka
9. Best Hindi Film Newton
10. Best Bengali Film Mayurakshi
11. Marathi Film Kachcha Limbu
12. Best Malayalam Film Thondimuthalum Driksakshiyum
13. Best Telugu Film Ghazi
14. Assamese Film Ishu
15. Best Tamil Film To Let
16. Best Gujarati Film Dhh
17. Best Action Direction Abbas Ali Moghu for Baahubali 2
18. Choreography Ganesh Acharya for ‘Gori Tu Latth Maar’ for Toilet – Ek Premkatha
19. Best Special Effects Baahubali 2
20. Best Music Director Kaatru Veliyidai
21. Best Background Score Mom
22. Special Jury Award Nagarkirtan
23. Best Lyrics JM Prahalad for Muthuratna song
24. Best Make Up Artist Ram Rajjak (Nagarkirtan)
25. Best Production Design Santhosh Raman (Malayalam movie Take Off)
26. Best Screenplay (Original) Sajeev Pazhoor (Thondimuthalum Driksakshiyum)
27. Screenplay Writer (Adapted) JAYARAJ (Bhayanakam)
28. Best Dialogues Sambit Mohanty (Hello Arsi)
29. Best Cinematography Bhayanakam
30. Best Cameraman Nikhil S Praveen
31. Best Playback Singer Shashaa Tirupati for Kaatru Veliyidai.


/ 5. Reviews