Important Notes about Banking Ombudsman Scheme

    Important Notes about Banking Ombudsman Scheme
    Important Notes about Banking Ombudsman Scheme:
    The Banking Ombudsman Scheme enables an expeditious and inexpensive forum to bank customers for resolution of complaints relating to certain services rendered by banks.

    The Banking Ombudsman Scheme is introduced under Section 35A of the Banking Regulation Act, 1949 by RBI with effect from 1995.

    Who is a Banking Ombudsman?
    The Banking Ombudsman is a senior official appointed by the Reserve Bank of India to redress customer complaints against deficiency in certain banking services.

    How many Banking Ombudsmen have been appointed and where are they located?
    As on date, fifteen Banking Ombudsmen have been appointed with their offices located mostly in state capitals. The addresses and contact details of the Banking Ombudsman offices have been provided in the annex.

    Which are the banks covered under the Banking Ombudsman Scheme, 2006?
    All Scheduled Commercial Banks, Regional Rural Banks and Scheduled Primary Co-operative Banks are covered under the Scheme.

    When can one file a complaint?
    One can file a complaint before the Banking Ombudsman if the reply is not received from the bank concerned has received one’s representation, or the bank rejects the complaint, or if the complainant is not satisfied with the reply given by the bank.

    Recourse available if one rejects the Banking Ombudsman’s decision: 
    If one is not satisfied with the decision passed by the Banking Ombudsman, one can approach the appellate authority against the Banking Ombudsman’s decision. Appellate Authority is vested with a Deputy Governor of the RBI.

    For More Banking Awareness Materials Click Here Below:

    Click Here to Subscribe Us via Email

    / 5. Reviews

    Online Mock Tests 2019: