Home » SSC » SSC CGL » Ssc Cgl Syllabus

SSC CGL Exam 2019-20 | Complete Exam Pattern and Syllabus for Tier I, Tier II, Tier III & Tier IV Exam

SSC CGL 2019-20 Syllabus: SSC has announced notification for Combined Graduate Level Examination for recruiting candidates in Group B and Group C Post. SSC CGL 2019 applications will be received soon. Last year, the SSC CGL applications were received till 25th November 2019.  Many aspirants are vigorously preparing for SSC CGL Tier I& II Exams for the 2019-20 session. All the aspirants can check the SSC CGL Exam Pattern for SSC CGL 2019-20. Further, all the applicants can boost the preparation with the SSC CGL Syllabus  2019. If you’ve not yet started preparing, we are here to provide detailed information about SSC CGL syllabus and Study Materials for Tier I and Tier II Examinations.


SSC CGL Tier I Exam Pattern 2019

SSC CGL Tier I exam is the Preliminary screening process of the candidates. SSC CGL Tier I is computer-based test having 100 objective type questions separated by 4 sections like General Intelligence and Reasoning, General Awareness, Quantitative Aptitude and English Comprehension. Each Section has 25 Questions and maximum marks assigned for each section is 50. The Maximum marks for SSC CGL Tier I examination is 200 and 60 minutes duration will be given for finish the Examination. In SSC CGL Tier I Exam each wrong will reduce 0.50 marks as penalty. Here is the SSC CGL Syllabus and Exam Pattern for Tier I Examination.

Phase ISubjectNo of QuestionsMaximum MarksDurationNegative Marks
Tier IGeneral Intelligence and Reasoning255060 Minutes0.50 Marks for Each Wrong Answer
General Awareness2550
Quantitative Aptitude2550
English Comprehension2550

SSC CGL Tier I Syllabus

General Intelligence & Reasoning TopicsGeneral AwarenessQuantitative Aptitude
Semantic AnalogyCurrent AffairsPercentage
Symbolic/ Number AnalogyExperience in Scientific aspectsRatio & Proportion
Figural AnalogyEnvironment AwarenessSquare roots
Semantic ClassificationHistoryAverages
Symbolic/ Number ClassificationCultureInterest
Figural ClassificationGeographyProfit and Loss
Semantic SeriesEconomic SceneDiscount
Number SeriesGeneral PolityPartnership Business
Figural SeriesScientific ResearchMixture and Allegation
Problem SolvingTime and distance
Word BuildingTime & Work
Coding & de-codingEnglish Language Basic algebraic identities
Numerical OperationsReading ComprehensionGraphs of Linear Equations
symbolic OperationsCloze TestTriangle and its various kinds of centres
TrendsPara jumblesCongruence and similarity of triangles
Space OrientationMiscellaneousCircle and its chords
Space VisualizationFill in the blankstangents
Venn DiagramsMultiple Meaning/Error Spottingangles subtended by chords of a circle
Drawing inferencesParagraph Completioncommon tangents to two or more circles
Punched hole/ patternTriangle
folding & unfoldingQuadrilaterals
Figural PatternRegular Polygons
folding and completionCircle
IndexingRight Prism
Address matchingRight Circular Cone
Date & city matchingRight Circular Cylinder
Classification of centre codes/ roll numbersSphere
Small & Capital letters/ numbers codingHemispheres
decoding and classificationRectangular Parallelepiped
Embedded FiguresRegular Right Pyramid with triangular or square base
Critical thinkingTrigonometric ratio
Emotional IntelligenceDegree and Radian Measures
Social IntelligenceStandard Identities
Complementary angles
Heights and Distances
Frequency polygon
Bar diagram & Pie chart


English Comprehension: Candidates’ ability to understand correct English, his/ her basic comprehension and writing ability, etc. would be tested

SSC CGL Tier-II Exam Pattern

Phase ISubjectNo of QuestionsMaximum MarksDurationNegative Marks for Every Wrong Answer
Tier IIPaper-I: Quantitative Abilities100200120 Minutes0.5
Paper-II: English Language and Comprehension1002000.25
Paper-III: Statistics (Only for Statistical Officer Post)1002000.5
Paper-IV: General Studies (Finance and Economics) (Only for Asst Audit Officer &Asst Accounts Officer Posts)1002000.5

SSC CGL Tier II Syllabus

Quantitative AptitudeEnglish LanguageStatisticsGeneral Awareness
SimplificationReading ComprehensionCollection and Representation of DataFinance and Accounting
InterestSpellingMeasure of DispersionFundamental Principles
AveragesFill in the BlanksMeasure of Central TendencyFinancial Accounting
PercentagePhrases and IdiomsMoments, Skewness and KurtosisBasic Concepts of Accounting
Ratio and ProportionOne Word SubstitutionCorrelation and RegressionSelf-Balancing Ledger
Speed, Distance and TimeSentence CorrectionRandom VariablesBiology
Number SystemError SpottingRandom VariablesPhysics
MensurationCloze TestSampling TheoryEconomics and Governance
Data InterpretationPara JumblesAnalysis and VarianceComptroller and Auditor General of India
Time and WorkSynonyms-AntonymsTime Series AnalysisFinance Commission
AlgebraActive-Passive VoiceIndex NumberTheory of Demand and Supply
Data Sufficiency

SSC CGL Tier III Exam Pattern

Tier-3 of SSC CGL exam will consist of a descriptive test. The paper will be in English/Hindi and will constitute of 100 marks in total that needs to be completed in 60 minutes.

Descriptive Paper in English/Hindi (Writing of Essay, Precis, Letter, Application, etc.)100 marks 60 minutes

SSC CGL Tier IV Exam Pattern

SSC CGL Tier-4 Exam is a Computer Skill Test. It will be conducted in two steps: DEST Test & CPT Test.

  • DEST (Data Entry Skill Test): Candidates are required to type 2000 words in 15 minutes on a computer in English. This test is conducted to check a candidate’s writing skills. DEST is conducted for the post of Tax Assistants (Central Excise and Income Tax).
  • CPT (Computer Proficiency Test): This test is conducted to check a candidate’s proficiency in Word Processing, Spreadsheets, and Generation of Slides. CPT is conducted for the post of Assistant Section Officer of CSS (Central Secretariat Service).

SSC CGL Selection Procedure

  • Also, Candidates who have qualified in Tier I would only be eligible to appear in SSC CGL Tier-II Exam.
  • Here, The marks obtained by the candidates in Tier I and Tier II would determine the eligibility of the candidates to appear in Tier III and Tier IV exams.
  • Likewise, Final merit list of successful candidates will be determined on the basis of total score obtained by them in Tier I, Tier II, Tier III.
  • Some posts have to undergo Tier IV round before the final selection takes place

IBPSGuide Recommends Affairs Cloud Current affairs PDF