Complete List of Dadasaheb Phalke Awards – 2018

Dear Readers, Here we have given brief details about The Dadasaheb Phalke Awards as per the exam point of view. Aspirants those who are preparing for IBPS / SBI / SSC / Insurance exam and all other competitive exams can make use of this efficiently.


The Dadasaheb Phalke Award is an outstanding and prominent award in Indian cinema. The award honors the recipients for their great contribution to the growth and improvement of cinema. It is offered yearly at the ceremony of National Film Awards sponsored by the Directorate of Film Festivals.

Awardees are chosen by a team of renowned individualities from the Indian Film Industry. This magnificent award includes a shawl, a Golden Lotus medal (Swarna Kamal), cash prize of 1,000,000 (US$15,000).


To celebrate Dadasaheb Phalke’s involvement, Government of India introduced this award and first honored in 1969. Dadasaheb often observed as and famously known as “the father of Indian cinema”. Further, he was as an eminent film-maker who directed Raja Harishchandra as a full-length feature film.

The award was first presented to actress Devika Rani at the 17th National Film Awards. There have been 49 awardees till 2017. In those recipients, actor Vinod Khanna and actor Prithviraj Kapoor are the only posthumous awardees.

Dadasaheb Phalke Excellence Awards (2018):

Popular celebrities participated in the Dadasaheb Phalke Excellence Awards which was held at Andrews Auditorium, Mumbai. Individuals who put their immense contribution in Indian films and Television are honored with this great award.

S. No. Category Winner
1. Best actor (male) Shahid Kapoor
2. Best actor people’s choice award Ranveer Singh
3. Entertainer of the year Kartik Aryan
4. Best actress (critics) Aditi Rao Hydari
5. Lifetime achievement award Simi Garewal
6. Pride of Indian cinema Sanjay Dutt
7. Path breaking producer of the year Anushka Sharma, Karnesh Sharma
8. Best director Ashwiny Iyer Tiwari
9. Outstanding performance (male) Raj Kumar Rao, Rana Daggubati
10. Outstanding performance (female) Tamannahh Bhatia, Kriti Sanon
11. Promising face of the year Aahana Kumra
12. Best actor (male) Marathi Vaibhav Tatwawaadi
13. Best actor (female) Marathi Pooja Sawant
14. Socially conscious performance of the year Rani Mukherjee
15. Best comic role Tusshar Kapoor
16. Best lyricist Manoj Muntashir
17. Best performance in a short film Divya Khosla Kumar
18. Iconic contribution towards music Hans Raj Hans
19. Versatile Singer Rani Hazarika
20. Entertaining performance in reality show Bigg Boss Hina Khan
21. Best actress drama Jennifer Winget
22. Best actor(male) Television Karan Patel
23. Best reality show judge Shilpa Shetty
24. Best talk show host Karan Johar
25. Social and business entrepreneur of the year Jaya Misra
26. Best fashion designer of the year Sanjukta Dutta
27. Comic performer of the year Sumona Chakraborty

Dadasaheb Phalke Film Foundation Awards (2018):

Bollywood actors Akshay Kumar, Sonam Kapoor and Bhumi Pednekar bagged the best actor and actress awards in the same way at the Dadasaheb Phalke awards, presented by Dadasaheb Phalke Film Foundation, held in Mumbai.

Rakesh Roshan, who is a legendary Film Director, won an award of Lifetime Achievement for his contribution to the Film Industry.

S. No. Category Winner
1. Best Actor Akshay Kumar
2. Best Actress Bhumi Pednekar
3. Most Versatile Actress Manisha Koirala
4. Lifetime Achievement Rakesh Roshan
5. Best Actress in a Leading Role(Padman) Sonam Kapoor
6. Best Actor in a Character Role Rajesh Sharma
7. Best Playback Singer(Female) Neeti Mohan
8. Best Playback Singer(Male) Armaan Malik
9. Best TV Anchor Aditya Narayan Jha
10. Best Entertainer(TV) Manish Paul
11. Best Playback Singer(Jury) Bhumi Trivedi
12. Best Stage Anchor Siddharth Kannan
13. Best Producer(Short Films) Sandip Marwah
14. Most Entertaining Film

(Sonu ki Titu ki Sweety)

Luv Ranjan
15. Saraswatibai Dadasaheb Phalke Best Actress (Lifetime) Farida Jalal
16. Best Debut Director Konkona Sensharma


0 0 votes
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments