List of Important Awards and Honours- July 2017 | GK Updates

List of Important Awards and Honours- July 2017 | GK Updates:

Dear Readers, List of Awards and Honours that conferred in the month of July 2017 was given here. Candidates those who are preparing for upcoming competitive exams 2017 can use these GK materials.

Awards Winners
Winner of prestigious ‘Great Immigrants’ annual award on US’s Independence day Adobe Chief Shantanu Narayen and former US Surgeon General Vivek Murthy both are Indian-Americans,
Winner of Order of Australia for community work, the highest civilian award in Australia. Guruswamy Jayraman (a 69-year-old Glenwood resident who migrated from Delhi to Australia in 1991)

About Australia:

Capital – Canberra

Currency – Australian Dollar

PM – Malcolm Turnbull

Prime Minister’s trophy for ‘Best Performing Integrated Steel Plant’ Tata Steel Ltd (Has won this for third consecutive year)

About TATA Steel:

HQ – Mumbai

Founder – Jamsetji Tata

Winner of 2017 Trafficking in Persons (TIP) Report Heroes Award Mahesh Bhagwat (Presently he serves as the first Commissioner of Police of Rachakonda.)
Nominated at the World Soundtrack Awards Music composer AR Rahman for his music in the film ‘Viceroy’s House’ Director – Gurinder Chadha
‘Golden Peacock Award’ for Environment Management Danfoss India (Climate and energy efficiency solutions company, the award was presented in Hyderabad during the 19th World Congress on Environment Management’ in the presence of Supreme Court Justice Kurien Joseph.)

About Danfoss

HQ – Nordborg, Denmark

Present President of Danfoss India – Ravichandran Purushothaman

Country – Denmark

Capital – Copenhagen

Currency – Danish krone

Honoured as world’s first completely green metro system Delhi Metro
Young Leaders Award for 2017 Ankit Kawatra (Award presented by by Queen Elizabeth II at a ceremony in the Buckingham Palace)
‘Sportsperson of the Year’ award P V Sindhu (Rio Olympics silver medallist was bestowed with the ‘Sportsperson of the Year’ award during the ‘Maruti Suzuki Sportsperson of the Year’ Charity Gala Awards)

Useful Information:

P V Sindhu – Sportsperson of the Year

Sindhu’s Coach P Gopichand – Coach of the Year award

Milkha Singh – Living Legend of the Year award

Cricketer K L Rahul – Game changer of the Year award

Abhinav Bindra – Lifetime Achievement Award

Deepa Malik – Inspirational athlete of the year award

Gaurav Gill – Athlete of the year award

Honorary Membership from Jodhpur Guide Association Shah Rukh Khan
Winner of 2017 Mahanayak Samman Shakuntala Barua
Honoured as World’s Best City in a survey by Travel and Leisure magazine San Miguel de Allende in Mexico

Top 5 in the List:

·        San Miguel de Allende (Mexico)

·        Charleston (US)

·        Chiang Mai (Thailand)

·        Kyoto (Japan)

·        Florence (Italy)

Indian city has been declared as a World Heritage City (WHC) by UNESCO Ahmedabad
Winner of Lifetime Achievement Award for his contributions as a parliamentarian in the Lok Sabha BJP leader L.K. Advani (JD-U leader Sharad Yadav also received the Lifetime Achievement Award as a Rajya Sabha)

The other awardees from the Lok Sabha:

•     Best Parliamentarian- Revolutionary Socialist Party MP N.K. Premachandran,

•     Best Woman Parliamentarian- Congress leader Kumari Sushmita Dev and

•     Best Debut Woman Parliamentarian- BJP leader Meenakshi Lekhi.

The awardees from the Rajya Sabha

•     Best Parliamentarian- CPI-M leader Sitaram Yechury,

•     Best Woman Parliamentarian- Samajwadi Party MP Jaya Bachchan and

•     Best Debut Woman Parliamentarian- Congress MP Rajni Patil.

Useful Info

•     Present Speaker of Lok Sabha – Sumitra Mahajan

•     Present Chairman of Rajya Sabha – Mohammad Hamid Ansari

Honoured with a fellowship by the Department of Culture, Government of India (GoI) Nandakishore Kapote (Internationally-acclaimed senior kathak dancer)
Winners of this year’s Ramon Magsaysay Awards Yoshiaki Ishizawa, a Japanese historian who helped Cambodians preserve the Angkor temples, and Gethsie Shanmugam, a Sri Lankan teacher who counseled war widows and orphans to overcome their nightmares, are among the six winners of this year’s Ramon Magsaysay Awards. The other recipients named are AbdonNababan, an Indonesian, a Singaporean businessman Tony Tay, a Philippine theater group and Lilia de Lima , a Filipino.

About the Award:

The Ramon Magsaysay Award is an annual award named after former Philippine President Ramon Magsaysay.

It is regarded as Asia’s version of the Nobel Prize and was first awarded in the year 1958.

Country – Philippines

Capital –Manila

Currency –Philippine Peso

Winner of 2017 UNDP Equator Prize for sustainable farming model Swayam Shikshan Prayog (Indian NGO)
The Personality of the Year award by Skoch Consultancy Services (SCS)-2017 Kishore Sansi (MD & CEO of Vijaya Bank)
Winner of Mohun Bagan Ratna for this year Subrata Bhattacharya.
Winner of Indian of the year award by Brands Academy in New Delhi Preeti Shenoy (Indian Writer)
Topped in the list of most Powerful Arab Women by Forbes Sheikha Lubna Al Qasimi (UAE Minister of State for Tolerance)
Honoured as World’s Richest Man Jeff Bezos (Founder of Amazon with a fortune of over $90.5 billion)


18th edition of the International Indian Film Academy Awards (IIFA) 2017:

  • Best Film– Neerja
  • Best Director-Anirudh Roy Chaudhary for Pink
  • Best Actor (Male)- Shahid Kapoor for Udta Punjab
  • Best Actor (Female)- Alia Bhatt for Udta Punjab
  • Best Actor in Supporting Role (Female)- Shabana Azmi for Neerja
  • Best Actor in Supporting Role (Male)- Anupam Kher for MS Dhoni: The Untold Story
  • Best Debutant (Female):Disha Patani for M.S. Dhoni: The Untold Story
  • Best Debut (Male)- Diljit Dosanjh for Udta Punjab
  • Best Lyricist- Amitabh Bhattacharya for the song Channa Mere Ya from Ae Dil Hai Mush kil
  • Best Playback Singer (Male)- Amit Mishra for Ae Dil Hai Mushkil
  • Best Playback Singer (Female)- Kanika Kapoor for Udta Punjab and Tulsi Kumar for Airlift
  • Best Music Direction- Pritam for AeDil Hai Mushkil
  • Best Actor In Comic Role- Varun Dhawan for Dishoom
  • Myntra Style Icon Award- Alia Bhatt
  • IIFA Woman Of The Year- Tapsee Pannu

About 18th IIFA award 2017:

Venue – MetLife Stadium, East Rutherford, New Jersey

1st IIFA award 2000

Venue – Millennium Dome, London (UK)

 Tamil Nadu government State Film awards for the Year (2009 to 2014)

Winners of Best Picture Category

  • Pasanga (2009)
  • Myna (2010)
  • Vaagai SoodaVaa (2011)
  • Vazhakku En 18/9 (2012)
  • Ramanujan (2013)
  • Kutram Kadithal (2014)



0 0 votes
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments