List of Important Awards and Honours- September 2017 | GK Updates

List of Important Awards and Honours – September 2017 | GK Updates:

Dear Readers, List of Awards and Honours that conferred in the month of September 2017 was given here. Candidates those who are preparing for upcoming competitive exams 2017 can use these GK materials.

Awards Winners
Prestigious Rashtriya Khel Protsahan Award The Reliance Foundation (Kendriya Vidyalaya Sangathan (KVS) also received the Rashtriya Khel Protsahana Purushkar for its ‘Identification and Nurturing of Budding and Young Talent’ (IDCO) program.)

Useful Info:

Nita Ambani is the chairperson and founder of Reliance Foundation and a non-executive director of Reliance Industries

National Award for ‘Excellence’ in Energy Management Hyderabad International Airport Ltd

Useful Info:

State – Telangana

Capital – Hyderabad

CM – K. Chandrashekar Rao

Governor – Ekkadu Srinivasan Lakshmi Narasimhan

Winner of ‘best bank’ award among small banks Karnataka Bank (for the use of technology for financial inclusion at the 13th IDRBT Banking Technology Excellence Awards 2016-17.)

Useful Info:

Karnataka Bank Headquarters in Mangaluru

MD & CEO – Mahabaleshwara M.S

PLuS Alliance Prize N R Narayana Murthy (Infosys co-founder) and Veena Sahajwalla (Mumbai-born scientist)
First life time award by Badminton Association of India (BAI) Prakash Padukone (The renowned Indian Badminton legend, he won the 1980 All England, besides bagging a bronze at the 1983 World Championship in Copenhagen.)

Useful info:

Mr. Himantha Biswa Sarma is the President of Badminton Association of India.

Prestigious N R Madhava Menon Best Law Teacher Award 2017 Tahir Mahmood (He is a Eminent jurist awarded for his distinguished services to legal education and the legal profession on the occasion of Law Teachers’ Day celebrations)
National level Rajbhasha Keerti Award The Marine Products Export Development Authority (MPEDA) (This award has been given to MPEDA for the best Implementation of Official language in the organization.)

Useful Info:

MPEDA Chairman- A Jayathilak

Vijaya Bank has bagged the first prize under the Rajbhasha Kirti Puraskar (Region C) for the year 2016-17

Prestigious ANR National Award S S Rajamouli (film-maker)

Useful Info:

Vice President – M Venkaiah Naidu

S S Rajamouli – Film Maker

Recent Movie of S S Rajamouli – Bahubali

UN High Commission for Refugees (UNHCR) 2017 Nansen Refugees Award Zannah Mustapha (He is the Director of Future Prowess Islamic Foundation School. Mr. Mustapha is the first Nigerian recipient of the award.)

Useful Info:

The office of the United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees (UNHCR) was created in 1950. In 1954, UNHCR won the Nobel Peace Prize for its groundbreaking work in Europe. FilippoGrandi is the 11th United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees.

Prestigious Von Hippel Award Professor C.N.R Rao (Eminent scientist) (The award is the US-based Materials Research Society’s (MRS) highest honour. Mr Rao is the Bharat Ratna awardee.)
Gentlemen’s Quarterly Actor of the Year Award Rajkummar Rao (GQ (Gentlemen’s Quarterly) magazine conducted the GQ Men of the Year Awards for 2017, in Mumbai. Woman of the Year award was won by Anushka Sharma.)


69th Emmy Awards: Complete List of Winners

SNo Award Winner
1. Outstanding Comedy Series Veep
2. Outstanding Drama Series The Handmaid’s Tale
3. Outstanding Variety Talk Series Last Week Tonight with John Oliver
4. Outstanding Variety Sketch Series Saturday Night Live
5. Outstanding Limited Series Big Little Lies
6. Outstanding Television Movie Black Mirror: “San Junipero”
7. Outstanding Lead Actor in a Comedy Series Donald Glover as Earnest “Earn” Marks on Atlanta
8. Outstanding Lead Actress in a Comedy Series Julia Louis-Dreyfus as Selina Meyer on Veep
9. Outstanding Lead Actor in a Drama Series Sterling K. Brown as Randall Pearson on This Is Us
10. Outstanding Lead Actress in a Drama Series Elisabeth Moss as June Osborne / Offred on The Handmaid’s Tale
11. Outstanding Directing for a Comedy Series Atlanta (Episode: “B.A.N.”), Directed by Donald Glover
12. Outstanding Directing for a Drama Series The Handmaid’s Tale (Episode: “Offred”), Directed by Reed Morano
13. Outstanding Writing for a Comedy Series Master of None (Episode: “Thanksgiving”), Written by Aziz Ansari and Lena Waithe


74th Venice Film Festival Awards 2017

Golden Lion – Best Movie The Shape of Water, directed by Guillermo del Toro
Grand Jury Prize Foxtrot, directed by Samuel Maoz
Silver Lion – Best Director Xavier Legrand (for Jusqu’à la Garde)
Volpi Cup – Best Actress Charlotte Rampling (for Hannah)
Volpi Cup – Best Actor Kamel El Basha (for The Insult)


UNESCO Announced Winners of Literacy Prizes

The UNESCO Confucius Prize for Literacy (3 Awards) AdulTICoProgram (Columbia), FunDza Literacy Trust (South Africa) and The Citizens Foundation (Pakistan)
The King Sejong Literacy Prize The Centre for the Study of Learning and Performance (Canada) and the We Love Reading programme (Jordan).


Click Here for Important Appointments in September 2017

Free Online Mock Test for IBPS PO/Clerk 2017

0 0 votes
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments