List of Presidents of India: From 1947 to 2020 | Check Here the Complete Details

List of Presidents of India: List of Presidents of India is Available Here!!! The complete details regarding the List of Presidents of India after the Indian independence to still now. Candidates who are preparing for the competitive exam shall check here the respective article.

General Awareness section is one of the most important sections for all the competitive exams. In General Awareness, Indian polity plays a major role in every competitive exam. Among that Presidents of India forms a major part of Polity and Static General Knowledge. Questions related to the Presidents of India are frequently asked in almost every competitive exam like UPSC, SSC to PSC Exams. In order to boost up your General Knowledge here, we have given the complete details regarding the President’s Eligibility, Tenure, Election, Power & List of Presidents of India from 1947 to 2020. So candidates shall refer to this article fully and enhance your knowledge in an efficient manner.

Download All Free Static GK PDFs Here

Check here the List of RBI Governors

President of India:

President of India is also known as the first citizen of India. Honorable President of India is the head of the state and is also the Supreme Commander-in-Chief of the Indian Armed Forces. The president is the nominal head of the government, he acts on the advice of the Prime Minister (Council of Minister). He represents the nation but does not rule it. The real power vests with the council of ministers.

List of Presidents of India: Eligibility Criteria

The Indian constitution includes article 58 that claims the complete description of eligibility rules for the President of India. Some of the following have given below:

  • The President should be a citizen of India.
  • He/She must be above the age of 35 years.
  • The President should be a member of the Lok Sabha and should get qualified for standing in the elections.
  • The President of India should not contain any office of profit under the State Government, Union, and other local authorities.

President of India: Election Process

The electoral college of India elects the President of India which includes

(i) elected members of both houses of the Parliament.

(ii) elected members of state legislatures.

(iii) elected members of the legislative assemblies of the Delhi and Puducherry (added by the 70th amendment Act, 1992).

(iv) Their vote is single transferable and their second choice is counted too.

President of India Tenure:

The President is elected for a tenure of 5 years but eligible for immediate re-election and can serve any number of terms.

President of India Impeachment:

Under Article 61, the President can be removed from the post in case it is found that there is any violation of the constitution by the president. This impeachment can be moved in either house of parliament.

The President can promulgate 3 types of Emergencies:-

  1. National Emergency (Article 352)
  2. State Emergency (President’s Rule) (Article 356)
  3. Financial Emergency (Article 360)

List of Presidents of India

List of Presidents of India

S.No Presidents Name Tenure Remarks
1 Dr. Rajendra Prasad January 26, 1950 – May 13, 1962 1st President of India
2 Dr. Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan May 13, 1962 – May 13, 1967 2nd President of India. Teachers Day is celebrated on his birthday.
3 Dr. Zakir Hussain May 13, 1967 – May 03, 1969 1st Muslim President
4 Varahagiri Venkatagiri (Acting President) May 03, 1969 – July 20, 1969 He was the acting president because of Hussain’s death.
5 Justice Mohammad Hidayatullah (Acting President) July 20, 1969 – August 24, 1969 He was acting President till Giri’s presidency.
6 Varahagiri Venkata Giri August 24, 1969, – August 24, 1974 He was the 4th President of India.
7 Fakhruddin Ali Ahmed August 24, 1974  – February 11, 1977 He was the second President who died in the post of the President
8 B.D. Jatti (Acting President) February 11, 1977 – July 25, 1977 Served as acting President of India upon Ahmed’s death
9 Neelam Sanjiva Reddy July 25, 1977 – July 25, 1982 The only president who was elected as a Un Opposed

List of Presidents of India

10 Giani Zail Singh July 25, 1982 – July 25, 1987 1st Sikh President of India
11 Ramaswamy Venkataraman July 25, 1987 – July 25, 1992 8th President of India
12 Dr. Shankar Dayal Sharma July 25, 1992 – July 25, 1997 9th President of India
13 K R Narayanan July 25, 1997 – July 25, 2002 1st Dalit President
14 Dr. A.P.J. Abdul Kalam July 25, 2002 – July 25, 2007 1st Scientist who become the President
15 Shrimati Pratibha Singh Patil July 25, 2007 – July 25, 2012 The first woman to become the President of India
16 Pranab Mukherjee July 25, 2012 – July 25, 2017 13th President of India
17 Shri Ram Nath Kovind July 25, 2017 – Incumbent 14th President of India

3.3 4 votes
1 Comment
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments