MIAMI OPEN 2018: – Complete List of Winners

Dear Aspirants Here we have given brief details about Complete List of Miami Open 2018 Winners in the exam point of view. Candidates those who are preparing for IBPS / SBI / SSC / Insurance exam and all other competitive exams can use this.


The Miami Open, sometimes known as the Miami Masters, is an annual tennis tournament for men and women currently held in Key Biscayne, Florida, an island town just off the coast of Miami. The tournament is an ATP World Tour Masters 1000 event on the men’s tour and a Premier Mandatory event on the women’s tour, played on hard courts at the Tennis Center at Crandon Park through 2018. The event is held annually in March. In 2019, the event will move to the Hard Rock Stadium in Miami Gardens north of Miami.


The tournament was founded by former player Butch Buchholz. His original aim was to make the event the first major tournament of the year (the Australian Open was held in December at that time), and he dubbed it the “Winter Wimbledon”. Buchholz approached the ATP and the WTA, offering to provide the prize-money, and to give them a percentage of the ticket sales and worldwide television rights in return for the right to run the tournament for 15 years. The two associations agreed.

The first tournament was held in February 1985 at Laver’s International Tennis Resort at Delray Beach, Florida. Buchholz brought in Alan Mills, the tournament referee at Wimbledon, as the head referee and Ted Tinling, a well-known tennis fashion designer since the 1920s, as the director of protocol. At the time, the prize money of US$1.8 million was surpassed only by Wimbledon and the US Open. (The event’s prize money has since grown to over $13 million.)

In 1986, the tournament relocated to Boca West. After its successful second year there, Merrett Stierheim, Dade County Manager and Women’s Tennis Association (WTA) President, helped Buchholz in 1987 to move the tournament to its current home in Key Biscayne. In keeping with the ambitions of its founder, the tournament has been maintained as one of the premier events in tennis.

In 1999, Buchholz sold the tournament to IMG. In 2004 the Indian Wells Masters also expanded to a multi-week 96 person fields, and since then the two March extravaganzas have been colloquially termed the Sunshine Double.

Prize money:

Winners Of Miami Open 2018:

Category Winner Runner Up
Men’s Singles John Isner (USA) Alexander Zverev (Germany)
Women’s Singles Sloane Stephens (USA) Jelena Ostapenko (Latvia)
Men’s Doubles  Mike Bryan (USA)
Bob Bryan (USA)
Karen Khachanov (Russia)
Andrey Rublev (Russia)
Women’s Doubles CoCo Vandeweghe (USA)
Ashleigh Barty (Australia)
Barbora Krejcikova (Czech Republic)
Katerina Siniakova (Czech Republic)


0 0 votes
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments