Regional Rural Bank – List of RRB & More About RRB

Regional Rural Bank

In 1969 after Nationalization of Banks in India the Banking system started to boost. RRB-Regional Rural Bank is a commercial bank which is owned by our Indian Government. Regional Rural Bank has takes part in the development of our Indian economy. Regional Rural Bank designed to develop the rural areas of India.

Now a day banking exams are more difficult to clear. It may seem impossible but it does not have to be. Academic knowledge is no longer sufficient to become a Banker. Read more articles which is related to banking syllabus. Here we have listed State wise Regional Rural Banks in India. Details follows.

List of Regional Rural Bank

Name of Regional Rural Bank  Location of Headquarter
Andhra Pradesh (AP)
Andhra Pradesh Grameena Vikas Bank Warangal
Andhra Pragathi Grameena Bank Kadapa
Chaitanya Godavari Grameena Bank Guntur
Saptagiri Grameena Bank Chittoor
Arunachal Pradesh
Arunachal Pradesh Rural Bank Naharilagun
Assam Gramin Vikash Bank Guwahati
Langpi Dehangi Rural Bank Diphu
Bihar Gramin Bank Begusarai
Madhya Bihar Gramin Bank Patna
Uttar Bihar Gramin Bank Muzaffarpur
Chhattisgarh Rajya Gramin Bank Raipur
Baroda Gujarat Gramin Bank Bharuch
Dena Gujarat Gramin Bank Gandhinagar
Saurashtra Gramin Bank Rajkot
Sarva Haryana Gramin Bank Rohtak
Himachal Pradesh
Himachal Pradesh Gramin Bank Mandi
Jammu and Kashmir
Ellaquai Dehati Bank Srinagar
J&K Grameen Bank Jammu
Vananchal Gramin Bank Dumka
Jharkhand Gramin Bank Ranchi
Kaveri Grameena Bank Mysore
Karnataka Vikas Grameena Bank Dharwad
Pragathi Krishna Grameena Bank Bellary
Kerala Gramin Bank Malappuram
Madhya Pradesh
Narmada Jhabua Gramin Bank Indore
Madhyachal Gramin Bank Sagar
Central Madhya Pradesh Gramin Bank Chhindwara
Manipur Rural Bank Imphal
Meghalaya Rural Bank Shillong
Mizoram Rural Bank Aizawl
Nagaland Rural Bank Kohima
Odisha Gramya Bank Bhubaneswar
Utkal Grameen Bank Balangir
Puduvai Bharathiar Grama Bank Muthialpet
Malwa Gramin Bank Sangrur
Punjab Gramin Bank Kapurthala
Sutlej Kshetriya Gramin Bank Bathinda
Baroda Rajasthan Kshetriya Gramin Bank Ajmer
Rajasthan Marudhara Gramin Bank Jodhpur
Tamil Nadu
Pallavan Grama Bank Salem
Pandyan Grama Bank Virudhunagar
Telangana Grameena Bank Hyderabad
Andhra Pradesh Grameena Vikas Bank Warangal
Tripura Gramin Bank Agartala
Uttar Pradesh
Allahabad UP Gramin Bank Banda
Gramin Bank of Aryavart Lucknow
Ballia Kshetriya Gramin Bank Ballia
Baroda Uttar Pradesh Gramin Bank Rae Bareli
Kashi Gomti Samyut Gramin Bank Varanasi
Prathama Bank Moradabad
Sarva UP Gramin Bank Meerut
Purvanchal Gramin Bank Gorakhpur
Uttarakhand Gramin Bank Dehradun
West Bengal
Bangiya Gramin Vikash Bank Berhampur
Paschim Banga Gramin Bank Howrah
Uttar Banga Kshetriya Gramin Bank Coochbehar


 About Regional Rural Bank

Dear Aspirants, Here we have given the Important Information About Regional Rural Bank. Candidates those who are preparing for IBPS, RBI, SBI and all other competitive exams can use this.

Functions of Regional Rural Banks (RRBs):

Regional Rural Banks are local level banking operations in all states of India. They have been created with a view to serve primarily the rural areas of the country with basic banking and financial services. However, Regional Rural Bank may have branches set up for urban operations and their area of operation may include urban areas too.

Main objective of Regional Rural Banks:

  1. Providing banking facilities to rural and semi-urban areas.
  2. Distribution of pensions, carrying out government operations like disbursement of wages of MGNREGA workers and etc,.
  3. Providing Para-Banking facilities like locker facilities, debit and credit cards.
  4. To save the rural poor people from the moneylenders.
  5. To increase employment opportunities by encouraging trade and commerce in rural areas.
  6. To encourage entrepreneurship in rural areas.

History of Regional Rural Banks:

Regional Rural Banks were established under the provisions of an Ordinance passed in September 1975 and the Regional Rural Bank Act 1976 to provide sufficient banking and credit facility for agriculture and other rural sectors. During the tenure of Indira Gandhi’s government with a view to include rural areas into economic mainstream since that time about 70% of the Indian Population was of Rural.

Regional Rural Banks (RRB’s) Genesis:

The development process of RRBs started on 2 October 1975 five regional rural banks were set up with a total authorized capital Rs. 100 crore. The first RRB, the Prathama Bank with authorised capital of Rs. 5 crore at its starting on 2 October 1975. Syndicate Bank sponsored the first Regional Rural Bank in India by name Prathama Bank, in Moradabad district Uttar Pradesh.

Ownership of Regional Rural Bank:

The Regional Rural Banks were owned by the Central Government, the State Government and the Sponsor Bank (Any commercial bank)

Sponsor Bank have the power of managerial and operational supervision of the RRBs. Whereas, Performance monitoring and regulatory supervision is done by NABARD.

The RRBs are owned by the Central government, the State government and the Sponsor Bank. The ratio of their shares is:

  • Central Government – 50%
  • State government – 15%
  • Sponsor Bank – 35%

Recapitalization of Regional Rural Banks

  • With a view to bringing the CRAR to at least 9 percent, the KC Chakrabarty Committee has recommended recapitalization support to the extent of Rs. 2,200 crore to 40 RRBs across 21 States.
  • The recapitalization process had started in 2010-11. The share of the Centre in respect of some RRBs could not be released in the absence of the release of the share of State Governments. The scheme was extended to March 31, 2014.
  • A total of Rs. 1,087 crore had been released as on march 31, 2014, to 39 RRBs, including Central Madhya Pradesh Gramin Bank.
  • “The Centre is now widely expected to go in for Supplementary Demand for Grants to provide forther funds to the RRBs that require capital support.
  • The Financial Ministry is gearing up to seek Parliamentary nod for additional capital infusion of about Rs. 12,000 crore inpublic sector banks (PSBs),which is expected to be done through Supplementary Demand for Grants in the upcoming Monsoon session of Parliament.
  • Finance Secretary Rajiv Mehrishi had recently said that the Centre was likely to infuse additional capital to the tune of Rs. 11,500 crore in PSBs this fiscal, over and above the Rs. 7,800 crore earmarked in this year’s Budget.

Amalgamation of Regional Rural Banks:

In 1975, the number of total Regional Rural Banks is only 6. It will be increased to maximum with 196 banks in 1990. Due to the financial crisis and poor performance by the RRBs, some of the banks were merged with some other RRBs. Finally the number of RRBs is 56 now.

Year Number Of  RRBs
1975 6
1980 85
1983 150
1985 188
1987 196
2006 133
2007 96
2011 82
2013 64
Present 56

Structure of the Regional Rural Bank:

The organizational structure of the RRBs is given below:

  1. Board of Directors
  2. Chairman & Managing Director
  3. General Manager
  4. Chief Manager/Regional Managers
  5. Senior Manager
  6. Manager
  7. Officer / Assist

    Click Here for IBPS Clerk Mains Preparation Time Table


4 1 vote
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments