Chief Justice Of India List | Static GK For Exam Preparation


Here we have added the Chief Justice of India list. This list is useful for the aspirants preparing competitive exams. This topic comes under the static GK part. So candidates use this Chief Justice of India list for the competitive exam preparation.

In this page, you are going to know all the chief justice of India list, the selection process, eligibility criteria, and many other information. This is an important topic to cover in the static GK topic. If you are thorough with the list of chief justice of India, then you can easily answer those questions in exam. So prepare efficiently with the data available here along with the list of Chief Justice in India 2020.

The Supreme Court in New Delhi is the highest judicial court in India. The Chief Justice of India is the Judicial head of our country and the head of the Supreme court. He is responsible for the allocation of cases and constitutional bench appointments. According to the Article 145 of the Indian constitution, the Chief justice allocates the works to all the other judges. The current chief justice of India is Sharad Arvind Bobde. He is also the 47th Chief Justice in India.

Static GK All In One – Download PDF


The president of India will appoint the Chief Justice for the Supreme court. On this appointment, he will discuss it with the other judge of the Supreme court and the high court. The Chief justice will hold the office term upto 65 years of age. On the death of President, the Chief Justice will hold the term as the acting president. the removal of Chief Justice is possible only through the Parliament impeachment.

Chief Justice Of India List

A Judge of the Supreme Court shall not be removed from his office except by an order of the President passed after an address by each House of Parliament supported by a majority of the total membership of that House and by a majority of not less than two-thirds of the members of that House present and voting has been presented to the President in the same session for such removal on the ground of proved misbehaviour or incapacity.

Chief Justice of India List:

Chief Justice of India  List


H.J.Kania26 January 1950 – 6 November 1951
M.Patanjali Sastri7 November 1951 – 3 January 1954
Mehr Chand Mahajan4 January 1954 – 22 December 1954
Bijan Kumar Mukherjea23 December 1954 – 31 January 1956
Sudhi Ranjan Das1 February 1956 – 30 September 1959
Bhuvaneshwar Prasad Sinha1 October 1959 – 31 January 1964
P.B.Gajendragadkar1 February 1964 – 15 March 1966
Amal Kumar Sarkar16 March 1966 – 29 June 1966
Koka Subba Rao30 June 1966 – 11 April 1967
Kailas Nath Wanchoo12 April 1967 – 24 February 1968
Mohammad Hidayatullah25 February 1968 – 16 December 1970
Jayantilal Chhotalal Shah17 December 1970 – 21 January 1971
Sarv Mittra Sikri22 January 1971 – 25 April 1973
A.N.Ray26 April 1973 – 27 January 1977
Mirza Hameedullah Beg29 January 1977 – 21 February 1978
Y.V.Chandrachud22 February 1978 – 11 July 1985
P.N.Bhagwati12 July 1985 – 20 December 1986
Raghunandan Swarup Pathak21 December 1986 – 18 June 1989
Engalaguppe Seetharamaiah Venkataramiah19 June 1989 – 17 December 1989
Sabyasachi Mukharji18 December 1989 – 25 September 1990
Ranganath Misra26 September 1990 – 24 November 1991
Kamal Narain Singh25 November 1991 – 12 December 1991
Madhukar Hiralal Kania13 December 1991 – 17 November 1992
Lalit Mohan Sharma18 November 1992 – 11 February 1993
M.N.Venkatachaliah12 February 1993 – 24 October 1994
Aziz Mushabber Ahmadi25 October 1994 – 24 March 1997
J.S.Verma25 March 1997 – 17 January 1998
Madan Mohan Punchhi18 January 1998 – 9 October 1998
Adarsh Sein Anand10 October 1998 – 31 October 2001
Sam Piroj Bharucha1 November 2001 – 5 May 2002
Bhupinder Nath Kirpal6 May 2002 – 7 November 2002
Gopal Ballav Pattanaik8 November 2002 – 18 December 2002
V.N.Khare19 December 2002 – 1 May 2004
S.Rajendra Babu2 May 2004 – 31 May 2004
Ramesh Chandra Lahoti1 June 2004 – 31 October 2005
Yogesh Kumar Sabharwal1 November 2005 – 13 January 2007
K.G.Balakrishnan14 January 2007 – 12 May 2010
S.H.Kapadia12 May 2010 – 28 September 2012
Altamas Kabir29 September 2012 – 18 July 2013
P. Sathasivam19 July 2013 – 26 April 2014
Rajendra Mal Lodha27 April 2014 – 27 September 2014
H.L.Dattu28 September 2014 – 2 December 2015
T. S.Thakur3 December 2015 – 3 January 2017
Jagdish Singh Khehar4 January 2017 – 27 August 2017
Dipak Misra28 August 2017 – 2 October 2018
Ranjan Gogoi3 October 2018 – 17 November 2019
Sharad Arvind Bobde18 November 2019 – Incumbent


Some important Points:

Here we have added some important points regarding the Chief Justice of India.

  • First Chief Justice of the Supreme Court – H.J.Kania
  • Current Chief Justice – S.A.Bobde
  • Chief Justice with the longest tenure – Y.V.Chandrachud (2696 days)

Every year, the demand for the competitive exam is increasing among the aspirants. The aspirants have to work very hard to secure a government job. Especially candidates have to prepare with no stones left unturned, for the current affairs and general awareness topics. In that section, candidates have to prepare many topics such as current affairs,static GK, appointments, awards, sports news, economy, etc. In each topic you can expect one or two questions. Only if you prepare hard you can answer those one or two questions from each topic. So don’t take this as light and prepare with a dedication. this list of chief Justice of India list takes just 2 to 3 hours to study. Then timely revision is more than enough. like wise study all the static GK topics and succeed in the competitive exams.

Candidates study this topic with a focus. You can easily cover the The chief justice in India list. It is the important topic in the current affairs. If any appointment is changed, we will update them . You have to updated with your preparation. so that you can score easily for these questions. Here we have also given the links for general awareness, current affairs, static GK preparation. You can also Practice quiz and test your level of preparation.

Related Links:

4.6 / 5. Reviews 788

Be the first to rate this post.

IBPSGuide Recommends Affairs Cloud Current affairs PDF