List of Governors in India 2021 PDF: Check New Appointed Governors of States & Union Territories

List of Governors in India 2021 PDF: The list of Governors in India PDF is available here. Static GK is very essential for the candidates preparing for the competitive exams. Download the List of Governors in India 2021 in pdf format for your exam preparation. The List of Governors in India 2021 PDF for all states and Union territories are given. In competitive exams, questions related to the list of governors in India state wise are highly expected. So the candidates have to go through all List of Governors in India 2021 pdf. Here we have updated all state governor list 2021 pdf. So that, you can prepare for the exam with this updated list of the governors in India 2021 pdf for all states and Union Territories.

Exam Carnival Offer


Download All Free Static GK PDFs Here

Selection of Governors in India:

The governors are appointed by the President of India. For states, the governors are appointed whereas lieutenant governors are appointed for Union territories. The tenure for the governors and lieutenant governors is 5 years. As an exception, some union territories will have administrators. There are certain eligibility qualifications for a person to become a governor of India. Those eligibility criteria are given here.

Eligibility for Governors:

  • The person must be a citizen of India.
  • Minimum age – 35 years.
  • The person must not be a Member of Parliament (MP) or a Member of legislative Assembly (MLA).
  • He should not hold any office of profit.


These are the eligibility criteria for the governors of India.


Grand Bundle PDF Course

Governor of All States & Union Territories:

Here is a table, the list of governors in all states of India is updated correctly. Every year, the demand for competitive exam is increasing among the aspirants. The aspirants have to work very hard to secure a government job. Especially candidates have to prepare with no stones left unturned, for the current affairs and general awareness topics. In that section, candidates have to prepare many topics such as current affairs, static GK, appointments, awards, sports news, economy, etc. In each topic, you can expect one or two questions. Only if you prepare hard you can answer one or two questions from each topic. If you are thorough with all the governors of all the states in India, you can answer easily. Likewise, you have to work hard for all the topics to score marks. Only hard work will gain you marks in the current affairs section.


In India, there is a total of 28 states and 9 Union Territories. In this, states will have a separate Chief minister and governor. The union territories are directly headed by the Central government. Only 3 union territories are having administrators. The other 5 union territories have lieutenant governors.

Get more: Current affairs for Competitive Exam

List of Governors in India 2021 (States)

Check the updated list of governors in India 2021 pdf.


State Governor
Andhra Pradesh Biswa Bhusan Harichandan
Arunachal Pradesh B. D. Mishra
Assam Jagdish Mukhi
Bihar Phagu Chauhan
Chhattisgarh Sushri Anusuiya Uikey
Goa P.S. Sreedharan Pillai
Gujarat Acharya Dev Vrat
Haryana Bandaru Dattatraya
Himachal Pradesh Rajendra Vishwanath Arlekar
Jharkhand Ramesh Bais
Karnataka Thaawarchand Gehlot
Kerala Arif Mohammed Khan
Madhya Pradesh Mangubhai Chhaganbhai Patel
Maharashtra Bhagat Singh Koshyari
Manipur Dr. Najma Heptulla
Meghalaya Satya Pal Malik
Mizoram Dr. Hari Babu Kambhampati
Nagaland R. N. Ravi
Odisha Ganeshi Lal
Punjab V.P. Singh Badnore
Rajasthan Kalraj Mishra
Sikkim Ganga Prasad
Tamil Nadu Banwarilal Purohit
Telangana Dr. Tamilisai Soundararajan
Tripura Satyadeo Narain Arya
Uttar Pradesh Anandiben Patel
Uttarakhand Baby Rani Maurya
West Bengal Jagdeep Dhankhar

Governor of Union Territories in India:

Also, in the below table the lieutenant governors/administrators of all the Union territories of India are available.


Union Territory Lieutenant Governor / Administrator
Andaman and Nicobar Islands Admiral Devendra Kumar Joshi (Lieutenant governor)
Chandigarh V.P.Singh Badnore (Administrator)
Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman and Diu Praful Khoda Patel (Administrator)
Delhi Anil Baijal (Lieutenant governor)
Jammu & Kashmir Manoj Sinha (Lieutenant governor)
Ladakh R.K.Mathur (Lieutenant governor)
Lakshadweep Praful Khoda Patel (Administrator)
Puducherry Tamilisai Soundararajan (Addl. Charge) (Lieutenant Governor)

Governors of India PDF 2021:

Here we have updated the governors of India pdf 2021 for exam preparation. so that you can download the pdf and study at any time. Prepare and attend quizzes regularly. So that you will remember strongly all the governors of India.


Download the List of Governors in India PDF (Coming Soon)


The governors of India are an important topic in current affairs. If any appointment is changed, we will update them. You have to update with your preparation. so that you can score easily for these questions. Here we have also given the links for general awareness, current affairs, static GK preparation. You can also Practice quiz and test your level of preparation.


Related Links:

In this article, we have discussed the importance of remembering the governors and lieutenant governors of India and provided the download links. Similarly, we have given links to the study material for other important topics. These files include updated information on tiger conservation in India which holds equal importance for all competitive examinations. And specifically for upcoming banking examinations, we have prepared a list of governors of the Reserve Bank of India.

Frequently Asked Questions

Q: Where can I get the updated list of Governors of India?

A: Download the updated list from the links given in the article.


Q: Who is the Governor of Maharastra?

A: The Governor of Maharashtra is Mr. Bhagat Singh Koshiyari.


Q: What is the minimum age to be a Governor of India?

A: The minimum age to be governor of India is 35 years.


Q: Who is the current lieutenant governor of Jammu and Kashmir?

A: The lieutenant governor of Jammu and Kashmir is Shri Manoj Sinha.


Q: Who is the governor of Madhya Pradesh?

A: The governor of Madhya Pradesh is Mangubhai Chhaganbhai Patel.


Q: Who was the first Lieutenant governor of Delhi?

A: Aditya Nath Jha became the first Lieutenant governor of Delhi.